Save Our Deer: Supporting Science and Community Involvement Over Slaughter

Help us raise awareness!

First, make sure to join us on Facebook by clicking HERE and attend our rally to educate Vassar students and parents this Sunday, January 24th.

 You can also take part in our virtual action week, info here.

Please voice your opinion by sending a letter to the editors of The Poughkeepsie Journal by clicking HERE & The Miscellany News (Vassar College's newspaper) by clicking HERE. The Miscellany News is only in print during Vassar College semesters, which don't resume until late January.

Additionally, we ask that you call the President of Vassar College at 845-437-7200 to voice your opinion. It should be noted that in advance of the 2013 killing, Vassar administrators and other staff setup email filters so as not to receive communications regarding deer. In the past we advised emailing the president at, but we no longer feel confident these messages go through. This is clearly censorship, so strategic vocabulary is advised for those wish to make their thoughts known through email.

There are 5 other Vassar College Senior Officers who were recipients of the Vassar Farm Oversight Committee's kill recommendation. Please cc them on your message:

Dean of Strategic Planning & Academic Resources - Marianne Begemann

Dean of the College - Christopher Roelke

Dean of the Faculty - Jonathan Chenette 

Vice President of Communications - Susan DeKrey

Vice President for Alumnae Affairs & Development - Catherine Baer

Vice President for Finance & Administration - Elizabeth Eismeier

If you are a student or alumnus of Vassar College, or know someone who is, please alert your fellow students or alumnae about the college’s actions and what they can do to stop the slaughter.

Also, e-mail the Town Supervisor for the Town of Poughkeepsie HERE. Please also let the representatives of the Town of Poughkeepsie's six wards know of your opposition. It is not necessary to be a Town resident to write, but do mention it if you are. The representatives and their e-mail addresses are:

First Ward - Jon Jay Baisley

Second Ward - Sean Eagleton

Third Ward - Joseph Conte

Fourth Ward - Michael Cifone

Fifth Ward - Stephan Krakower

Sixth Ward - Ann Shershin 

Thank you for your help in this noble cause!